Weekly Photo Challenge–Foreshadow (August 3, 2013)

Bees + Coreopsis = Honey

At the beginning of my bee adventures, I planted bee balm, coneflowers, and what I thought were coreopsis so that I could begin a pollinator garden. The coreopsis actually came from a trusted source, but as its flowers bloomed over the last two weeks, it became clear that I had planted black-eyed susan instead of coreopsis. The bees, and other pollinators, flew by the black-eyed susan blooms without even pausing because they offer no pollen or nectar.

Much to my surprise, I found coreopsis at the hardware store today. I was picking up something totally unrelated, but when I saw honeybees gathering at one section of the garden area, I had to take a peek. I took some coreopsis home, and before I had even planted them, a bee began foraging.

She’s featured in the video along with the Flight of the Bumble Bee and the local traffic!

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge–Foreshadow (August 3, 2013)

Leave a Reply

