First Photos of a Queen (April 12, 2014)

First Photos of a Queen (April 12, 2014)

Here’s the queen from the new hive.

The queen is essential to a hive’s success, so I am always looking for evidence of her when I inspect a hive–I look for eggs or young larva, but not usually the queen, because she can be hard to find in a hive of 30,000 bees.  I finally captured my first shot of a queen today when inspecting my new hive.

The queen from my original hive also made an appearance though I wasn’t able to capture her image.  She was on a frame of freshly built comb.  Seeing two out three queens in one day was a delightful start to a Saturday morning.

IMG_0095

2 thoughts on “First Photos of a Queen (April 12, 2014)

  1. Impressive! I have always been so interested in keeping bees but I haven’t gotten the courage up to actually do it yet. I have a question about your hives. Do you split them or do they tend to split themselves?

  2. Pingback: Being Neighborly Through Blogging | Triumphant Wings

Leave a Reply

